In which Masonic conspiracies abound!

18 Sep

So, the new Dan Brown book came out this week, and I am so grateful to have left Barnes and Noble just a short while ago, because I worked at a bookstore when Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix came out and it is really not an experience I need to repeat ever. In preparation, since it looks like at least some of The Last Symbol will be set in Washington D.C., the Washington Post offered an article about what D.C. should brace itself for in terms of book-tourism! I’m assuming that there’s a lot of Masonic stuff in there, since a lot of people involved in the American Revolution and several signers of the Declaration of Independence were Freemasons.

I actually have never read much of Dan Brown’s stuff—I tried, but couldn’t focus on it long enough to finish it—but I will admit that it’s probably kind of hypocritical of me to get down on Dan Brown when my go-to movie for cheering myself up is National Treasure. On the other hand, THAT MOVIE IS AMAZING AND ANYONE WHO INSULTS IT IN MY PRESENCE IS DEAD TO ME.

2 Responses to “In which Masonic conspiracies abound!”

  1. Stephanie H. September 18, 2009 at 22:36 #

    See, I tend to look at the Dan Brown books like National Treasure in written form. Unfortunately, the first movie took itself way too seriously instead of acting like a National Treasure movie. The second movie was slightly better. But the books are really fluffy, you’re right. I will probably be checking this out from the library, not buying it.

  2. Julia duMais September 19, 2009 at 08:57 #

    Exactly! The Dan Brown movies just seem to take themselves so seriously, which I think is probably why I can’t take them seriously. Like, NT knows that it’s ridiculous and rolls with that, instead of actually pretending that there may be any truth at all to the story it’s telling or anything more to it than “pretty people hunting treasure, yay!”

    I mean, Lord knows I’ve got no problem with fluff and read a ton of it myself, so that’s not so much what I take issue with; I just have trouble getting into the books.

Leave a Reply

